Presented by


Creating Reflection would not have been possible without the contribution of organisations and individuals who are committed to truth-telling.

We would like to thank those who gave permission for us to use key artefacts, those who helped us find these artefacts, those who provided cultural oversight and those who contributed to the site itself.

Indigenous Cultural and Intellectual Property

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander knowledges, perspectives and experiences have been essential to the creation of Reflection. We respectfully acknowledge the contributions of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people to the site, and their continued ownership of their Indigenous Cultural and Intellectual Property (ICIP). This ICIP includes knowledges and experiences that are contained in performances, speeches, films, photographs, languages and other material.

We worked with Terri Janke and Company to develop protocols for consultation with ICIP holders.

We consulted with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people who participated in the resources represented on this website, or their families and communities. Where consultation was possible, we have obtained permission to display their ICIP on this website. Where we could not speak with participants directly, we have sought the advice of relevant cultural authorities to ensure that all ICIP in this website is used in accordance with customary law and cultural protocols. Where we could not gain permissions from appropriate rights holders, we have withheld material from being published on the site.

More information about permissions and who we’ve worked with is included on each artefact page.

Although we have consulted widely and gained relevant permissions, we acknowledge some visitors may have concerns about content on this website for cultural, copyright, moral rights or ICIP reasons. Information about copyright is in our copyright notice. If you have any other concerns about the resources shown on this website, or if you would like to suggest corrections, please email us. Please note that information about Services Australia payments and services is not available from this address. If you need help with a payment or service please visit our website.

Permissions to use artefacts

We sought permissions from appropriate individuals, families and organisations to include all artefacts on this site.


We would like to thank the following individuals and families for providing permission for use of their artefacts on the site:

Dr Mick Adams, Tim Aguis, Mandy Ahmat, Marnie Ah Sam, Steve Anderson, Dr Sue Anderson, Rex Angie, MaryAnn Ansey, Maria Atkins, Lilon Bandler, Roy Barker Jnr, Bilson family, Professor MaryAnn Bin-Sallik, Joan Binnion, Sharon Blaney, Moira Bligh, Narelle Anderson on behalf of Uncle Alfred (Tiny) Bonner, Deanne and Rayleen Booth, Prue Borthwick, Professor Eleanor Bourke, Paul Brandy, Sonya Brindle, Dell Burgen, the Hon. Linda Burney MP, Glenn Castillon, Clague family, Troy Combo, Kevin Coombs OAM, Ben Cubillo, Dr Daphne Daniels, Ernie Dingo AM, Basil Dodd, Senator Pat Dodson, Anny Druett, Vanessa Farrelly, Helen Fejo-Frith, Joe Flick, Robyn Forester, Delena Foster, Karla Grant, Kez Hall, Rodney Hall, Maisie Harkin, Aunty Ruth Hegarty, Eddie Hollingsworth, Martin Kamener, Kate Kelleher, Chris Kelly, Kyra Kum-Sing, Councillor Getano Lui Jnr AM, Chips Mackinolty, Michelle Mallett, Senator Malarndirri McCarthy, Frank McLeod, Lydia Miller, Marilyn Miller, Michael Miller, John Moriarty AM, Jim Morrison, Morton family, Ray Nagas Jnr, Toshio Nakata, Aunty Yvonne Nona, Denise North, Rob Oerlemans, John Patten, Elaine Pelot-Syron, Uncle Ricky Petterson, Itumathunga Randall, Rhoda Roberts AO, Barry Smith, Ollie Smith, Peter Smith, Dr Sue Stanton, Lynne Stanton, Rena Stanton Laniyuk, Dr Sue Taffe, Brett Templar, Andrew Thomas, Michelle Tuahine, Jamil Tye, Petrina Walker, Raymond Walker, Distinguished Emerita Professor Maggie Walter, Klynton Wanganeen, Roslyn Watson, James Webb, Haidi Willmot, Craig Young.


We would like to thank the following organisations for their assistance to use artefacts held in their repositories, and for their time and contributions to Reflection:

  • Aboriginal Advancement League of Victoria    
  • Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS)
  • Department of Social Services Library
  • Museum of Australian Democracy
  • National Archives of Australia
  • National Indigenous Australians Agency
  • National Film and Sound Archive
  • National Library of Australia
  • National Museum of Australia
  • NSW Department of Premier and Cabinet
  • Parliamentary Library of Australia
  • State Library of New South Wales
  • State Library of Victoria
  • State Library of Western Australia
  • Streetwize Communications
  • Tasmanian Aboriginal Centre
  • Toomelah Local Aboriginal Land Council.


We would like to thank Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander staff from within Services Australia and from other government agencies for their advice and contributions.

Research and content design was completed by Services Australia staff. A working group of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander staff reviewed all content on the site.

The site was developed and designed by Oxide Interactive and is hosted by GovCMS.